Temperance Hall

In 1854 Sons of Temperance division of Orillia decided to build a hall for meetings, selling shares for $4 each. The Sons bought a site on Matchedash Street and built a 25 foot by 45 foot wooden hall with a platform at one end. Completed in the late 1850s the Temperance Hall became the town hall of Orillia, hosting events such as meetings, concerts, church services, and weddings.

Recent Posts

Local Spotlight: How Pauline Barratt Aquatics is improving the mental and physical health of Orillia’s residents.

Benefits of Living in a Smaller City

Must-Visit Coffee Shops and Bakeries in Orillia

Upcoming Events in the City this Spring

Care for a stroll? Our 6 Favourite Spots within a 5 Minute Walk from Matchedash Lofts.

Orillia offers small town charm and big city amenities